What a week!

This first week of the New Year and the first at the new job has been oddly rough.

On the first day, I had random car trouble—the battery just plum died. Luckily, we had a spare battery (and because of my super keen-ness, I started off to work much earlier than necessary). But, sheesh, what timing!

And then the whole getting sick thing happened, too. I could not conduct proper conversation at my first meeting with the boss. I was too busy blowing my nose and asking him to repeat himself.

And my monthly ugh decided to join in the fun, too.

But otherwise, it’s been interesting and I’m glad to be starting this new job. I hope next week will be better. Just wanted to swing by the ol’ blog and fill you in on my week.

zlkzcxr2I’ve just started Kate Elliot’s Court of Fives, and I hope to have a post up about it, soon.

And also, thank you to Tammy from Books, Bones, and Buffy for the lovely copy of Made to Kill by Adam Christopher. It’s so beautiful and new and signed. Lovely!

And now, back to my battle against phlegm.

Happy 2016!

14 comments

  1. I didn’t know you got a new job! Or I think I did, but didn’t realize you started this week. Wow, grats! And ugh, what are the chances of that, car troubles on the first day? Glad things worked out though, and I hope you feel better soon!

  2. imyril – Haha, I made it sound like more than it was (because I’m prone to dramatics). Things are looking up significantly this week 🙂

  3. Jenny – Haha, oh the dramatics! I think I just wanted to “bemoan” something. Truly, that week wasn’t so bad, and this week is looking up already.

  4. Mogsy – Thank you! 😀 I do feel a lot better this week. I think I’m starting to get the hang of things at the office (hope I can return to a more regular blogging schedule soon)….

  5. Glad things are looking better! Some weeks are just…meh. 🙂

    I’ve thought about trying Kate Elliott’s books several times, but never have. I’ve heard good things about Court of Fives, maybe that’s the one I’ll give a shot. In interviews I’ve read she sounds like a very interesting author.

  6. It seems like everything was conspiring against you there for a moment – it happens with me also (things conspire!) You came through it all though and at least you were there, in work, you and your phlegm and other womanly issues! Come on – that’s definitely a thumbs up in your favour isn’t it!
    Anyway, shut up Lynn! Good luck in your new job – even though you won’t need it and happy reading.
    Lynn 😀

  7. Lynn – haha yes, things conspire! I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t have been at work spreading the phlegm *goes to hide behind her tissues*. But hooray, I’m all better now!

  8. Greg – oh do try Kate Elliot!! But, I just finished reading it and it isn’t my fav of her works. I’m reading Black Wolves, now, I hope this one will do the trick 🙂 Otherwise her world building in the Spiritwalker books make my top favorite lists of fantasy worlds for sure!

Leave a Reply

