Moments of melancholy and mystery. Art by Catrin Welz-Stein.

@Novelicious tweets a motivational quote about the creative process of writing everyday, every other hour and her quotes are always accompanied by beautiful artwork or photography. I’ve hearted so many great finds from her! And boy does this help with NaNoWriMo, as I’m having a rough start…

nanowrimo week 1I’m about 4k words behind the daily recommended quota :/

Anyway, recently, she tweeted about the artist Catrin Welz-Stein and this gorgeous image:

journeytotheeast
“Journey to the East” by Catrin Welz-Stein

And I just wanted to float away in this palace suspended in the ocean of the sky. This is like the more fanciful, luxurious, Russian version of Carl’s house in Pixar’s Up. 😛

Apparently Catrin Welz-Stein pulls apart pieces of old out-of-print photos and reassembles them into new pieces digitally, so her art literally leaps from the pages of old books!

And so, here I go with my favorite pieces:

memories2
“Memories” by Catrin Welz-Stein

This one’s truly a flight of fancy. I’m by no means an art connoisseur so I really don’t know what the technique is called, but I love the weirdly porcelain looking skin and the strangely detailed textures of the hair and dress and feathers in this piece. It takes the visuals to the perfect spot between realism and surrealism.

theworld
“The World” by Catrin Welz-Stein

Stars and planets make way, the goddess of the galaxy has entered the ballroom! Love the gold undertones. Makes space look candlelit.

starsailor
“Star Sailor” by Catrin Welz-Stein

Such a beautiful dream palette. The scene brings to mind Yvaine from Neil Gaiman’s Stardust. She hangs the stars in the sky, her dress makes up the night, and her earrings are evening dew drops.

mydearfriend
“My Dear Friend” by Catrin Welz-Stein

Here’s a lovely winter scene. Reindeers take one through snowy wastes to ballrooms hidden deep within the ice palaces of winter kings and queens.

misssunshine
“Miss Sunshine” by Catrin Welz-Stein

I’m not sure what to make of this piece. But, the palette sleepwalks me to heady, midnight gardens, marble warmed by days of sun, and chirpings in the night.

homewardbound

This one’s all sorts of creepy (kind of reminds me of Moisturize-me! Cassandra from Doctor Who) but an interesting piece that makes me want to tell a story about it. The lady has a bit of a hopeless expression on her face – a wind goddess imprisoned by a Sorcerer-Sailor, perhaps?

daschristkind
“Das Christkind” by Catrin Welz-Stein

She looks like an ice princess that only visits during the depths of winter. She peers longingly into your window at your warm hearth and your quilted blankets and leaves trailings of ice flowers on the panes.

bubbles
“Bubbles” by Catrin Welz-Stein

This one is a playful and peaceful portrait of a pixie! Heh heh, calm down on the alliteration, I know…but if it adds to my NaNo word count…

liberty
“Liberty” by Catrin Welz-Stein

I do love the nonsensical flavors in surreal art but my mind is always reaching for a story behind it. I’m not sure why this one’s called “Liberty” when everything – the moon, the stars, the clouds, the bird, even – are kind of pinned into place in dreamer girl’s hair? Though the bird looks like it might be coaxed into freedom. Maybe it’s meant to be ironic…

bluemoon
“Blue moon” by Catrin Welz-Stein

A madam cradles a ship, rocking it gently as it sails into the night. It’s good to have the strong, motherly, assuring hands of guidance when you’re navigating in the dark.

alongwayhome
“A long way home” by Catrin Welz-Stein

More evening parties on traveling palaces with checkerboard floors and mini Taj Mahals. Book me the room right above the anchor with the dizzying views, please!

abrakadabra
“Abrakadabra” by Catrin Welz-Stein

Mistress of the constellations, she plucks the strings between the stars and nighttime melodies drift to the city below, lullabies of dreaming and sleep.

Anyway, I hope these scenes of strangeness and surreality help you through the end of week 1 of NaNoWriMo. I think I’m just about ready to return to writing myself…

4 thoughts on “Moments of melancholy and mystery. Art by Catrin Welz-Stein.

  1. Beautiful art! I love her style especially the “classical” look of her faces.

    And don’t worry about falling behind on NaNo, there’s still plenty of time to catch up. My own slump usually occurs around mid month so I really have to push myself in the first week and really ride through the difficult parts where I struggle for motivation. Good luck! YOU CAN DO IT!

  2. Mogsy – I’m going to set aside huge chunks of time and aim to write about 5k each to catch up! I think the reason why it’s so hard this year is because I’m pantsing it and I’m finding that not knowing where I’m going with the story is way too frustrating. I’ll need to take a moment to plot out a bit more :/ Good luck to you, too, Mogsy!

  3. OMG. These are all so gorgeous. I particularly like Blue Moon. It is so soothing.

    All the best in the NaNoWriMo. I think it’s totally ok to fall behind as long as you just keep plugging at it.

Leave a Reply

