Do you know what happens when you stay up late to read a book? You get really hungry.

Okay, I’ve been at grad school for the past month – that’s my excuse for not being up here more often! Ever since I started this program, haven’t had as much time for reading…. so, I came up with this brilliant plan of reading one short-ish novel per weekend! And, I started one this morning at 12:30AM and feverishly rampaged to the finish line at 7AM (My eyes would appreciate it if I didn’t treat them as slaves). Did not feel tired after this reading session, but apparently I was because I conked out and was called “lazy-butt” the next day.

Well, what book was I reading? The long overdue-to-be-read Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

She really had me in a chokehold most of the way through the book. All these memories just flooded back (I didn’t have time to re-read the first two before starting on this one) and I was just anticipating so much for things to be resolved!! As I’m reading about 80% deep into the story, I encounter all these really awesome passages that were so intense. In this last instalment of the Hunger Games series, we get a moody Katniss that is deeply troubled and confused by her situation, if she wasn’t so before. Some of her suspicions regarding the nature of the war between the rebels and the Capitol grow bigger and bigger, until she can’t ignore it anymore, nor can she ignore her part in making it happen.  She is a huge anti-hero – she doesn’t want the role, why can’t people leave her alone?? Then, when she accepts the role, things seem to get even worst. The top leaders of both sides seem to see her merely as the face of the rebellion, and are willing to use her and those she loves to get what they want from her.  She is, at most, a threat to them, and at the very least, useful as a power player to move across the chessboard. And, no matter how hard she tries, she can’t muster or sustain the amount of energy it requires to fuel her feelings of revenge against all the useless fops in the capitol for condoning the Hunger Games and the exploitation of the Districts. As stupid and ignorant as they are, they are still people – do they deserve to die for the lifestyles they led? Don’t they deserve a chance? Katniss spends a lot of time deeply thinking about who she is and whether or not she deserves to get such upturned faces of joy from the suffering people she fights for.

There are lots of satisfying plot surprises in this book, as well – especially between her and Gale and Peeta and the other Victors. Lots to chew on here, for her. She launches herself into the Mockingjay campaigns so she doesn’t have to think about problems that, on the surface, seem less difficult – but are so much closer to her heart and that much more painful to deal with.  Who can she trust? Even her best friends seem to have agendas of their own.

I like this book’s portrayal of the life of a “hero” – the precious but dangerous rallying figure that does so much and yet so little. Most of the time, Katniss is angry that she can’t help more because she is a homing beacon for the rebellion’s power, and if she were ever caught, it could be fatal for the cause.  As in her nature, she prefers being out on the field, taking action – fighting, leading missions, doing anything but putting fake dirt on her face and posing in front of a camera, toting glib lines.  Feeling like the hypocrites she is fighting against. As Peeta always likes to say, she “has no idea the effect she has on people”.  The idea of her – fury and spirit and justice blazing together – has long transcended the person she really is. Everything she does can no longer be only for herself, but for all the hundreds of thousands of eyes that are tuned on her every move. Why should she be selfish and insist on doing things her way? Can she trust her own voice, anymore?

Anyway, this book was quite a satisfying end to the series. I do have a few qualms about the ending – I found it was a little unsatisfying – however, as you can tell by my whipped eyes, I did end up finishing it in one night, so it must be good.

Happy reading and I hope I can continue to keep this up!

Rating: 4.5 Fur underwear (ew?)

7 thoughts on “Do you know what happens when you stay up late to read a book? You get really hungry.

  1. The key to staying up all night with a book, I feel, is to have the right foods clustered around you. Chocolate and peanut butter combinations are an excellent choice for an all-nighter, especially if it’s going to be intense like Mockingjay. :p

  2. I found Mockingjay to be my least favorite book in the Hunger Games series. There was rather too much doom and gloom, in my opinion, and I didn’t like Katniss’s new, suspicious attitude. I felt as though we’d been given a completely new narrator. But I will say that this was a worthy ending to the series.

  3. Jenny – Mmmm chocolate and peanut butter. I’m so glad I’m not allergic to either of those. I might as well stock up on the sugary products, since I’m not going to sleep anytime soon, right? 😛
    Allegra – I sort of agree with you on that. I found the ending to be a bit of a downer. But, overall, it really had my eyeballs in an iron fist 😛
    Darla d – Good to see you, too! And yes, you should try this series one day. Or save them up to read all at once on a rainy day, maybe 🙂
    Kiss a cloud – Actually, that’s usually what happens with me. My brain just begs my eyes to stay open to read the exciting bits of the book! But, my eyes are tricky and convince my brain they just need to close for a few minutes….

Leave a Reply

