The Whys

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

A) Applying to grad school in Biochemistry.
B) Writing and world-building
C) Reading 9 books at once (City of the Beasts, Burning Your Boats, Wizard of Earthsea, Trickster’s Choice, Cold Magic, The Home and the World, Night’s Master, Firebirds Soaring and yes, Mockingjay). I cycle through them quite happily.
D) Being lazy

There you have it. Reasons why I haven’t been keeping up with this blog.

On another note, are any of you interested in reading a little short story I wrote? It’s a fairy-tale re-telling. I would really appreciate some feedback on it (it’s recently been through the wash cycle over at the Critters Writers Workshop but more comments would be nice!).

8 comments

  1. Nice to hear from you again! I’ve missed your posts, but I’m glad you’re enjoying your reading. Very good luck with the grad school applications!

    I’d love to read your story. I’m mad about fairy tale retellings. If you want to send it to me my email is bastet57 AT gmail DOT com. πŸ™‚

  2. I too love fairy tale retelling so please do publish your short story (or send it via email, if you so prefer). I’m so looking forward to reading it! πŸ™‚

  3. Charlotte – That’s the thing with me. I’ll either be really really focused on one book, or go crazy on five books or more. I’m really lovin’ Cold MagicM by Kate Elliot so far!
    Jenny – Thanks a bunch! My story has received mixed reviews… some people really really enjoying it, some people really really not enjoying it. So, it would be interesting to hear what you have to say about it! (Oh, and it really isn’t a fairytale re-telling… it’s more like a fairytale mish mash)
    Kay – It’s not anywhere near publication, there are apparently lots of grammar and comma issues, to say the least. But, I would still love to get your feedback on it!

  4. It’s great to see you back in the blogosphere, Sharry– you’ve been sorely missed! I would love to read your short story, and would be happy to provide feedback. I adore fairy tale retellings (or mish-mashes, either way) as well as the originals by the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Anderson, and have written a couple retellings myself.

  5. Allegra – Oh, neat! You dabble in writing as well? I’d definitely appreciate some feedback on my story! I wrote this one to try out my abilities to write in lyrical prose, so I didn’t work so much on the plot and characterization. But, well, let me know how you found it!

  6. Welcome back! So nice to hear from you again. I would love to read your short story πŸ™‚ Please do send a copy.

    Apart from Mockingjay, I haven’t heard of any of those other books you are reading, but all those titles put together sound so magical!

    Good luck with the grad school applications πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

