Something I happened by

I was over at Enchanted Serenity of Period Films today, and she posted about the 20 minute film “Butterfly Circus” (watch it here). I admit, I tried really hard not to cry. I knew it was going to be some sort of motivational film, I knew something heart-wrenching but triumphant was going to happen, and that when you do that sort of thing in a movie, you risk going on the lame side and instead of making people feel moved, you might end up making them roll their eyes ever so slightly. I’ve never heard of Nick Vujicic before either, so this was my first time hearing about him.

I watched the film with my brother, and we both sort of share the same taste in films, so I knew he was also going to be skeptical about it, too. But we thought, “it’s only 20 mins, let’s watch it since we’ve procrastinated projects all day anyway”, so we watched it. Scene after scene flashed by, and the creator of the film, Joshua Weigel, successfully made me feel somewhat emotionally connected in the span of 10 minutes. But still, you can imagine me, sitting in front of the screen, with my arms crossed, thinking in my head, “yeah, I get what you’re trying to do.” I totally thought I had it all figured out. Then, at the end of the film – one scene, one wordless scene, and BLAM, all the tears started trickling out, slowly. And then, my brother looked down at me and pointed wordlessly, and I opened my mouth to tell him to “Shut up” (I wasn’t thinking straight :P) but then saw that he was wordless because his eyes were a little wet, too.

Then we burst out laughing. Who knew the watching of this little film would become a test to see who could resist crying (he won’t admit it, so typical..). I’m such a cry-baby in private, but when people are around I feel uncomfortable about letting those droplets loose. Maybe it’s from years of watching mum bawl at every little remotely emotional scene out there and teasing her about it. I feel so hypocritical 😛 Anyway, watch the movie, it’s only 20 minutes long, and tell me what you think about it! It’s a Doorpost Film Project winner (though I don’t really know what that means to the film community).

6 comments

  1. Maria Grazia – Haha, that reminds me of the day I went to see A Walk to Remember with my friend and she had packed her purse with tiny tissue packets!

  2. Allegra – I think I’m weird with crying, too. I can be perfectly unemotional when people expect me to react, and I can blubber like mad over something sappy!

Leave a Reply

