Internet shopping makes me realize how impatient I am…

Still around folks… just a bit busy (with a smattering of proscratination)! I’m reading  a whole lot more of other people’s blogs and not keeping up with my own 😛

I finally got my second huge book haul! I waited a whole extra week to get it, since it was sent home and I live on campus. But, oh, that wonderful feeling! For me? A package? Why, thank you! (proceed with decimation of cardboard box in which the books were nestled)

Thanks to your dedicated efforts at reviewing some of these books, I have spent quite a hefty sum on internet shopping. Then, waiting with increasing impatience for the package to arrive (literally, I waited a whole MONTH, by then, some of the books had already arrived at the local bookstore…*sigh* I am a victim of my own impatience).

Some of the goodies I got:

–          Lonely werewolf girl by Martin Millar

–          The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

–          The Children’s Book by A.S. Byatt

–          Luck in the Shadows by Lynn Flewelling

–          After Dark by Haruki Murakami

–          The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

–          The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

–          Graceling by Kristin Cashore

–          Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliasotti

So lovely! Such intriguing plots and deep thoughts! Such pretty covers for book lovers!

And, also, I won by first book – Prospero Lost! From Graeme, at Graeme’s Fantasy. I checked my email at the wee hours of the morning, just before class, and quietly shrieked with delight so as not to wake any of my roomates up (they’re all lazy bums and wake up 5 mins before class :P) Ah, the joy of winning a free book!

So expect a nice, slow, leisurely trickle of book reviews but lots of obsessive comments and blog visiting from me for a while!

13 thoughts on “Internet shopping makes me realize how impatient I am…

  1. Good heavens – what a great haul! Several of those are already favorites of mine, and I’m looking forward to hearing about the others. 🙂

  2. I’ve also been having a bit of trouble keeping up with my blog. Ooh, you got The Graveyard Book! I’m going to get that one out on my next visit to the local library.

  3. Hey! Sorry to be bugging you with so many comments, but I had to mention this…When I was carrying out my customary daily visit to the Barnes & Noble website this evening (I know, I’m such a geek!), I saw Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters in the Editor’s Picks section. I know that you were reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies a while ago, so I thought you’d be interested.

  4. Jenny – That is not a coincidence! I rummaged around in the lists you compiled of books you enjoyed and I was convinced enough about the quality of some of them that I decided to buy them.
    Nymeth – Your love for The Children’s Book inspired me to react by…well, buying it spontaneously. I just finished Graceling and will put up a review just as soon as I get past this very very good chapter in The Demon’s Lexicon 😛
    Charlotte – I hope so too! I just finished reading The Tempest which the book may have drawn inspiration from, so I’m all set to read it. Now if only the publishers would send it to me quickly…I’m incredibly impatient about books.
    Allegra – Are you reading it for Carl V’s R.I.P. challenge too? Not that you need a reason to read a Gaiman book….And I have heard of S&S&Sea Monsters! Erm.. I still haven’t finished P&P&Z yet though.
    Ana O.– thanks! I’m so far enjoying everything very highly, and have become a huge bother in the dorm (recommending books here and there wherever I hear people talk about them).
    bookdaze – the feeling is pure happiness…. and greediness! I spent a good hour just inspecting them like they’re diamonds. Then I promptly placed them on my shelf and admired them from a far too. 😛
    Reagan – Thanks for the award! How lovely of you Reagan!

  5. I have Lonely Werewolf Girl on my tbr pile too. Hoping to read it for RIP IV. The Graveyard Book and Luck in the Shadows are wonderful – I adore Lynn Flewelling’s Nightrunner trilogy. The Children’s Book is one I want to get too. Great haul of books!

  6. Cath – Oh, good idea!! I should totally read it for Carl’s RIP challenge! I’m totally looking forward to reading another Flewelling novel. I really enjoyed her Tamir Trilogy! Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply

