Perilous Reading (R.I.P. IV)

For people with huge, over reactive imaginations such as me, it doesn’t take a lot to scare me witless! But, of course, what creeps the heck out of me only makes me want to read/watch it more, even if it’s between my fingers and I miss out on the scariest parts (truly, I can think of much scarier torture/haunting/murder scenes than what actually happens). So, when I saw Carl’s catchy R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril (R.I.P.) Challenge (what an awesome name!), and saw how many people were joining, I fell for the hype and joined up.

Here’s an excerpt from Carl’s blog about the Challenge:

I find that kind of melodramatic fear to be a delicious intoxication, one that makes this time of year an especially enjoying time to be a reader. There is enough bad fear in the world: fear of losing one’s job, fear of the state of the world, fear of failure…the list is endless. It is time to reject that fear, embrace hope, and while doing so embrace the fun kind of fear–the kind that had us sitting around camp fires as children, listening to adults tell us ghost stories. The kind that made you want to stay up past your bed time to peek at the late night scary movie on television.

I love that!

So, I’ve got Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book coming in by mail soon. And I’ve read some of Wilkie Collins’ works (has anyone read Heart and Science?) hence the second pick, The Moonstone. And now that the rain thumps down in buckets through the night, and the fog slinks out of the river for a prowl, and those crackly leaves are starting to skitter across the ground like little creatures (don’t you love that sound?), and things starting to die do so in a flash of blazing color – I can’t deny that Autumn is such a great season for readers.  That’s the kind of stuff that makes me want to write or read a story with ambience. Anyway, I’m jumping a little ahead of the weather (it’s not that Autumn-y yet). Can’t wait to read these spookers!

By the way, does anyone have some Gothic-ish novels that they really really enjoyed? I’ve been browsing around but some immediate recommendations would be great!

11 thoughts on “Perilous Reading (R.I.P. IV)

  1. Andi – I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while, so many people have blogged and raved about it being so great! I just need to wait a few more days for it arrive in the mail… internet shopping really makes me realize how impatient I can be =)

  2. Have you read “The Yellow Wallpaper”? It’s not Gothic exactly, or a book (short story), but it is damn creepy and good. Oh, and Donna Tartt’s The Secret History – totally scary!

  3. yay for The Graveyard Book! I haven’t read any Wilkie Collins yet, but I’m considering both The Woman in White and The Moonstone for RIP. As for Gothic novels, nobody ever seems to have read Tideland by Mitch Cullin, but it’s so good!

  4. LOL, totally understandable. That’s one of the reasons I’ve almost given up ‘net shopping completely. A dictionary definition of “impatient” would have my head next to it.

  5. I absolutely love autumn; it’s my favorite season for reading and writing. I’ve been thinking about read The Graveyard Book for a month or two, but now I’m glad I’ve saved it for a more appropriate season!

  6. Jenny – I’ve never heard of it! But I wikied it and it looks like some pretty gripping stuff. Who knew so many writers could be inspired by wallpaper…I’ll keep these two books in mind!
    Nymeth – I wikied Tideland (love wikipedia) and it said it’s a cult classic…how intriguing
    Andi – I can only do internet shopping once in the while, otherwise I’d buy way to much and be impatient about it for way too long =)
    Allegra – Me too! I’m all ready for a new season of reading!

  7. Not Gothic exactly, but they certainly have the atmosphere – Deanna Raybourn’s third book “Silence in the Moor”, though you really have to read the first two first.

    Also some of Barbara Michaels’ books are Gothic-like contemporaries (well, contemporary when she wrote them in the 1970s/80s), my fav is “Shattered Silk”.

    Li

  8. You could also try Woman in White by Wilkie Collins.

    One of Henry James’s short ghost stories also really spooked me out “The turn of the screw”. It’s really a class apart from other gothic stories…

Leave a Reply

