Whohoo!

Essay’s done… summer’s finally begun for me! Sadly, I do feel a little at a loss… of things to do. What am I supposed to do with so much time on my hands?? This has got to be, hands down, the busiest summer I’ve ever had. I’m helping out with all these uni clubs, and taking two summer courses along with a long distance course, along with my job and volunteer work… and, of course, this blog! I can’t believe I’m actually getting a respite, for at least two weeks! Well, I’ll be back soon with another review… I just did a huge book splurge on Amazon, and I can’t wait! I’ve got several books that were on my wishlist, that I’m excited to read about thanks to everyone’s wonderfully written reviews!

Before I get back to Sophie’s World, a little something romantic from Amy Tan’s The Bonesetter’s Daughter.

“He kissed my eyes, one at a time,
This is beauty, and this is beauty,
and you are a beauty,
and love is beauty
and we are beauty.
We are divine,
unchanged
by time.’ ”

This one’s my favorite of all her books. I love Amy Tan’s Historical Fictions, and how she blends the past and present together.

Also, I just found out from clicking on Sur La Lune Fairytales that Hayao Miyazaki has a new film out called ‘Ponyo’ . Looks cute!

7 comments

  1. My summer hasn’t been very busy; The only things I really did were tennis lessons and a few week-long vacations with the family. The rest was reading, blogging, and trips to the beach! I think that next summer will be a bit busier because I’ll be able to volunteer at the local library! I wanted to this summer, but I was a little late on the request. I saw an add for Ponyo in the newspaper this morning, it does look cute!

  2. Allegra – Tennis lessons sound fun! I haven’t played tennis for so long. Yeah, I haven’t done anthing ‘fun’ this summer (except, blogging ’bout books of course). I didn’t get to go camping, didn’t really go to the beach either, too bad. I love autumn though… Volunteering at the library? Sounds fun! I remember when I volunteered, you get to meet all these other people who love books just as much as you do!
    Nicole – I love Hayao Miyazaki animations. And, his storylines are really creative too, so, even if I’m too old to be watching, I’ll probably still see it just because I love all the vibrant colors and expressions of his characters.

  3. Oh my!!! Ponyo looks so amazing! I got tears in my eyes near the end. I love Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle. My daughter mentioned seeing this trailer the other day and I had forgotten about it. I’m so glad that I chose your site as one of my visits from Dolce Bellezza as it was a great pleasure to be reminded of this. I definitely would like to see this one in the theater. That is one thing that I have yet to do, see one of his films on the big screen. It looks lovely.

  4. Carl V. – Spirited Away was definitely an amazing thing to watch! Hayao Miyazaki is a creative genius with his animations and the way he tells the story. Thanks for stopping by (and for hosting the wonderful R.I.P. challenge, which I’m much looking forward to participating in)!

  5. I took my girls to see Ponyo the week it opened, and we all adored it. Best of all was glancing at their faces and seeing the expressions of delight on them that lasted the entire movie. Miyazaki is amazing, isn’t he?

  6. darla d – yes he is! I’ve loved him since watching Nausicaa, Valley of the Wind. I still haven’t seen Ponyo, I must make some time to go and see it.

Leave a Reply

