A hurly burly of…erm…nothing

Been really busy! Want to post a review, but no time! No time! (hence the fragmented sentences)

Therefore, 2 questions to ask you:

1 – Any good foreign films you guys have enjoyed? I’m a sucker for the foreign film… Or, any black and white film that you enjoyed? I love those too.

2 – Any one read Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder? Thoughts?

And, since it’s Teaser Tuesday:

“Old Pentaquod, realizing that he would not see his daughter again, summoned her two sons, and holding them by the hand, even though they were grown now, walked to the shore and called after the departing sloop, ‘Tciblento! What shall we do with your boys?’ But she was gone, gone from her tribe forever, and the boys would somehow be absorbed, and they would wander bewildered with the rest of the Chpptanks, and in the end they would be hunted like deer and slain, and the needles of the pine would cover them. Oh Tciblento! The old man wept, and when the geese departed from the river his spirit followed.” (pg.139 of James A. Michener’s Chesapeake)

I’ve read it before, now I’m reading bits and pieces again.

Now, back to working on things that have deadlines…

Guess who?

Thou Nature, art my goddess; to thy law

My services are bound. Wherefore should I

Stand in the plague of custom, and permit

The curiosity of nations to deprive me,

For that I am some twelve or fourteen

moonshines

Lag of a brother? Why bastard? Wherefore base?

When my dimensions are as well compact,

My mind as generous, and my shape as true,

As honest madam’s issue? Why brand they us

With base? With baseness? Bastardy? Base? Base?

……I grow, I prosper. Now, gods, stand up for bastards.

One of my favorite passages in a certain play and one of my favorite sympathetic villains…

4 comments

  1. I did read Sophie’s World, but it was too long ago for me to remember my thoughts clearly! I remember liking it at the time, though.

    As for foreign films, have you watched The Orphanage? That’s a really good one, though very sad. A few others I loved were Pan’s Labyrinth, Y Tu Mama Tambien, Spirited Away, Whisper of the Heart, Grave of the Fireflies (saddest movie ever), Dolls, The Secret Life of Words (Spanish, but spoken in English) and Japanese Story (which is actually Australian :P)

  2. Foreign films – I did an introductory film studies back in first year uni and that one semester totally blew my brains out and changed the way i look at movies forever. i especially loved The Seventh Seal and Seven Samurai (hhmmm, both with the number seven in the title?)
    I, like Nymeth, loved Pan’s Labyrinth and Jap anime Spirited Away and also Princess Mononoke. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is also a good one (but surely you’ve seen it) – and in this same vein ‘Hero’ and to a slightly lesser extent but still entertaining ‘House of Flying Daggers’.

    Sophie’s World – I started reading it only a couple of years back on a friend’s recommendation – but found it tedious. Perhaps not in the right mood?

    King Lear quote? I love this popular one: “We two alone will sing like birds i’ the cage:
    When thou dost ask me blessing, I’ll kneel down,
    And ask of thee forgiveness: and we’ll live,
    And pray, and sing, and tell old tales, and laugh
    At gilded butterflies, and hear poor rogues
    Talk of court news; and we’ll talk with them too,
    Who loses, and who wins; who’s in, who’s out;
    And take upon ‘s the mystery of things,
    As if we were God’s spies; and we’ll wear out,
    In a walled prison, packs and sets of great ones
    That ebb and flow by the moon.”
    – William Shakespeare, King Lear, 5.3.9

  3. Pan’s Labyrinth is wonderful but seriously terrifying. I spent most of the movie with my face buried in my friend’s shoulder. I thought it was going to be a dark fairy tale, which it was, but I wasn’t expecting to be like bash-people-to-death-with-broken-bottles dark. So be warned! It took me totally off guard!

    If you haven’t seen King of Hearts (it’s old and French), you should – a little French town evacuates at the threat of a German bomb, leaving the gates of the insane asylum unlocked, and the crazy people take over the town. It’s funny and heartbreaking.

    I read Sophie’s World a few years back – I really enjoyed it! It’s not a light read, and I have to be in the mood for it, but I love at the end how – er, hem, it just occurred to me that you may not have read it yet. A cool thing happens at the end!

  4. Nymeth – I’m reading Sophie’s World right now! Did you post a review about it? I’ll definitely be poking around your blog after I finish reading it. As for the foreign films, hmmm – is The Orphanage a horror movie (I just google imaged it)? Looks intriguing! I saw Pan’s Labyrinth and loved it! It was so creepy and mysterious and fairy-tale-ish. I think I might have jumped in my seat and probably screamed at some point in the movie. Actually, I remember now, it was the part where – I totally forgot if he had a name – this monster put his eyeballs into the sockets in the palm of his hand and started chasing Ophelia. I’ve seen all of Hayao Miyazaki’s creations – my two favorites are Spirited Away and Nausicaa, valley of the wind. But, I loved Totoro as a kid, still do, actually =P Whisper of the Heart was good too, and yeah, Grave of the Fireflies, really really really sad. Adding the other movies to my list of things to watch…
    Aimee – Oh, how lucky you are! Film studies would be like English Lit for me – it would totally feed into my little indulgences. I haven’t heard of the Seventh Seal of the Seven Samurai. Pan’s Labyrinth is a definite <3. Also, LOVE Hayao Miyazaki and wish he'd create more wonderful stories with his animations. I saw CTHD, Hero and House of Flying Daggers. All pretty good! I totally understand why you'd find it hard to start Sophie’s World. I started reading it a few days ago (in between writing my essay – can't help myself!) and found it hard to get into at first. But once I got a good few chapters into the book, I really wanted to find out the mystery behind what was going on with this mysterious Philosopher. Not to mention I'm learning so much about Philosophy! I'm actually getting the Greek Philosopher Timeline straight now! Oh, and Correct! That was a quote from King Lear. The quote you picked makes me feel so sad! After all that happened to Lear, and finally he can be reunited with Cordelia… so sad, *sniff*. Thanks for the suggestions!
    Jenny – I watched PL too! And, yeah, I had some good frights watching it — the part where that monster puts the eyeballs into the palms of his hands. I was expecting him to do that but when it actually happened it was just so creepy and terrifying! I love ‘old and French’! Especially if it’s got a Historical setting – sounds like I would enjoy King of Hearts (I’m trying to imagine crazy people running amock in the town)! I have to confess, I was sort of thinking Sophie’s World was kind of slow and I was thinking of abandoning it for the moment. But your comment that something cool happens at the end just made me want to keep reading. And now I can’t stop reading it!

Leave a Reply

