Questions for Fantasy Lovers Out there! (1)

keep-calm-and-love-fantasy-books

Questions for Fantasy Lovers out there:

Answer these as fast as you can. You’re only allowed to scan your bookshelves to gain inspiration but the purpose is to see which is most memorable to you at this point in your reading!

What are your….

…most memorable heroes?

This one’s easy. I just finished reading, Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora. Locke’s the antihero of the story, and he’s always got tricks up his sleeve.

Speaking of thieves, I’ve got to say Eugenides from Megan Whalen Turner’s King of Attolia. I especially liked him in that one because he really irritates the heck out of everyone at the castle, and in the end, surprises them all!

…most memorable heroines?

Don’t make me decide! I have so many… (and they’re each memorable to me!)

Fainne from Child of the Prophecy by Juliet Marillier. She’s unreadable, remote and awkward to those around her, but, we the readers know better. She’s so in need of someone she can truly trust and be herself with (enter Darragh).

Lirael from Lirael by Garth Nix. She’s intelligent and clever and brave, and kind of a loner (being awkward with other people), but she’s got guts and the necromancer’s instinct. She’s not afraid to try things on her own and creep about in the darkest, creepiest, sketchiest corners of the Clayr fortress for curiosity’s sake.

Claidi from Claidi Collection by Tanith Lee. I can never forget Claidi for her spunkyness and her awkwardness (and sometimes, complete cluelessness). She’s quick to remark and wonder at the insanity of her world and poke fun at it.

…most memorable villains?

Right now, I can think of a few:

Lord Voldemort. The history of his childhood is amazing. Also, how J.K. Rowling paralleled it with Harry’s own story. They both went through similar circumstances and struggles as children, and they’re both so similar in talent, yet their lives turned out so differently.

Mr. Croup and Mr. Vandemar. I keep thinking they’ll appear behind me with some witty verbage and finish me off before I can question them about it.

…memorable romantic interests (from a fantasy novel)?

Selendrile from Dragon’s Bait by Vivian Vande Velde. I always picture his smoky velvet eyes, his amused smiles, and his lack of propriety (he’s a dragon too, after all, why should he care?).

Prince Char from Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Uh, what can I say? He’s just so charming! He isn’t ashamed of doing the silliest things for a good laugh (ie. sliding down bannisters with Ella) and he’s got a good heart! What more can you ask for?

…most memorable magic-crafters (being very loose with this term)?

Howl form Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. I thought of him immediately. I just remember him howling with rage from having his hair gone a slight tinge of pink or red because Sophie moved the hair-dye bottles around. It was hilarious and appalling. He’s a particular one he is.

…most memorable lands and cultures?

The Old Kingdom from Garth Nix’s Abhorsen trilogy. I know, the place is rampant with Mordicant, Dead Hands and Stilken creatures. But, that library…oh that library is wonderful! And all those secret, hidden nooks and crannies, tunnels and catacombs in the Clayr’s fortress and the Abhorsen’s castle. It’s worth battling the undead everyday for.

Also, I LOVE Shannon Hale’s Eight Realms, mentioned in Book of a Thousand Days. I like Dashti’s singing magic and the culture surrounding that. I think it’s time for a re-read…

…most memorable magical creatures?

The Blammor from The Forgotten Beasts of Eld by Patricia A. McKillip. Watch out for that surprise ending/epiphany that Sybel has! That’s part of the reason why I’m intrigued by the Blammor (I won’t reveal anymore for those of you planning to read it).

…most memorable pets/animal side-kicks?

Mogget and the Disreputable Dog both from Garth Nix’s Abhorsen trilogy. I love Mogget because he’s the wild card of the story, you can’t ever figure out who’s side he’s on. In the end, I don’t think he really cares, as long as he’s fed and comfortable with no one to boss him around. And I love the Disreputable Dog because she’s just the perfect intelligent, speaking, shapeshifting magical pet one would want to watch one’s butt while one’s battling the undead.

…most memorable magical objects?

The Cloak of Invisibility from Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling. That’s just a pretty convenient thing to have stuffed in one’s pocket. So many private conversations to eavesdrop and snitch on.

…favorite kind of magic/magical quotes?

Hmm… I normally don’t look out for those.  Lots of great stuff in Neil Gaiman’s works though.

…favorite race of peoples?

Tuatha Dé Danann from Child of the Prophecy by Juliet Marillier. I also like the Old ones, who are more ancient than the Tuatha Dé Danann (they’re the mossy rocks, the creaking trees, the gurgling streams).

…favorite cover art?

The cover of Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier. I love love Kinuko Y. Craft’s work.

these are tough to answer…i almost couldn’t even find responses to some my own questions! When I was coming up with these questions, I was envisioning that I would have lots to say, but turns out, it’s harder than I thought. If you read lots of fantasy, answer these questions too (or post them on your own fantastic blogs)! I’m going to post similar questions and answers every so often, I love compiling  ‘lists’ like this, and I’m really curious to know of your favorites or your most memorable reads in this genre so far in terms of certain categories!

***

And going off topic, got two new bookcases!! Yay! One that has six shelves, and one that has four shelves (nothing elaborate, just some functional shelves). Let’s see, I can fit thirty regular sized paperbacks per shelf so….that makes room for around *gulp* 300 books. I think I already have about 300 books in my other room. Though, I guess I’ll have to take into account shelf room for my hulkin’ textbooks.

13 comments

  1. Most memorable heroes: The Fool from Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s books and Tawny Man trilogy, I think he is my favourite male character ever, so gracious, bright, funny and loving.

    Most memorable heroines: I have a great many of those, I love a good strong female character. I love Arya, from A Song of Ice and Fire, by Georges Martin; Malta from The Liveship Traders by Robin Hobb: she’s such a pain, at first, but she matures beautifully; Maree Mallory from Deep Secret, and Elda, especially in Year of the Griffin, both by Diana Wynne Jones.

    Most memorable villain: Mr Wednesday, from American Gods, by Neil Gaiman, so intriguing; Cersei, from A Song of Ice and Fire, she’s just plain crazy evil, I love to hate her.

    Fantasy crush: Chrestomanci (by Diana Wynne Jones) was my very first, so much class, so much wit; then Aragorn… I never could resist to a dethroned prince.

    Magic user: Chrestomanci, again. Kit, from The Dark Lord of Derkholm: I love the idea that griffins can be magic users, too.

    Lands and culture: Camorr and all the city-states of the fallen Therin Empire, from Lies of Locke Lamora, truly original. I also love the way J. K. Rowling linked her fascinating world to ours.

    Magical creatures: I won’t include intelligent “animals” who are actual characters in books, so I’ll have to say the Spectres (is that what they’re called in English?) from His Dark Material, and the Boggarts from the Harry Potter world.

    Animal sidekicks (and I’ll put animal characters there): Nighteyes (wolfe), from the Assassin’s Book; Elda (griffin); Tintaglia (dragon), from The Liveships Traders; Téméraire (dragon), by Naomi Novik; Iorek Byrnison (armoured bear), from His Dark Material… They’re usually so much smarter and wiser than humans, and I like the idea that they prevent the men to think to highly of themselves as the sole thinking species in their world. Except for Elda, who is also a plain teen girl, but with talons, wings and tail.

    Magical objects: hm… Oh, yes, I love the Pensieve, in Dumbledore’s office. Such a lovely idea.

    Kind of magic : not sure what you mean by that…

    Favourite magic people: well, I love elves, dragons and especially griffins, even though they probably don’t really count as a people.

    Favourite art cover: most of it is pretty ugly, so… The one you chose for Locke Lamora is very nice. I also like everything simple, in black and white… Oh, I know: the Bloomsbury adult cover for Harry Potter and the Prisoner from Azkaban, it’s a montage of a hippogriff, it’s beautiful.

    I know I forgot some very important things, here, but well, I didn’t cheat.

  2. I love your answers, and I think I’ll have to borrow this meme sometime 😛 You’re making me want to re-read the Old Kingdom trilogy. Lirael really was awesome. I remember being upset, when I got to book two, that Sabriel was no longer the protagonist. I got over that quickly enough 😛

  3. I don’t really have time to answer the questions right now, but I’ll probably come back at some point to do them. Anyway, I agree that the Eight Realms and Dashti’s singing magic are fascinating! I’ve already read Book of a Thousand Days twice, and recommended it lots. Juliet Marillier sounds like a very good author. I considered buying one of her books once; I’ll have to grab it next time I’m in the bookstore!
    I envy you for those new bookshelves! I have a very funky four-shelved cabinet in my room, which was cool at the time of purchase, but now, I’m thinking for going for something a bit more functional. After a recent book-buying splurge, I had to store away lots of older books to make room for the newcomers. Oh, if only I could win the lottery! 😉

  4. Meredith – It’s a fun little book to read! I quite enjoyed it myself!
    Syracuse Cat – George R.R. Martin is great! His characters are so fully developed, and the plot is so intricate. I do enjoy a George R.R. Martin every so often. That Cercei is indeed so very evil! And, I do agree with you about Malta, she is quite a frustrating character at first, but as you read along, her character becomes more endearing! Have you read any other Neil Gaiman books? He’s such a great writer – very original and amusing to read his stuff. Funny thing, I have Diana Wynne Jones’ Chrestomanci Chronicles but I’ve never read them (such is the state of my to be read pile) but sounds like you really enjoyed them! I’ll have to pull it out of the pile and start reading that… I’ve never actually read LOTR (I know, epic miss-out) but I did watch the movie and Viggo Mortensen looked HOT as Aragorn =) And you brought up Naomi Novik! I’ve been hearing much about her lately, and I’m starting to be very interested…sounds like she’s an author that should not be missed. Haha lovin’ your answers! They’re so interesting – they make me want to read some of those books you mentioned! (sorry for replying so disjointly and so late… I had to study for a final exam, which is now, thankfully, over).
    Jenny – Fantasy is totally an indulgence of mine, and it’s not a taste most of my friends enjoy (they prefer His. Fics, which I love too, and fictions). You should totally do a similar meme but catered to your own reading tastes!
    Charlotte – Haha cheater! The whole point is that you don’t have to think about it, just answer based on whatever comes to mind, kind of “on the spur of the moment” =P
    Nymeth – I think I’m long overdue for a re-read of the Old Kingdoms trilogy. Funny thing, I read Sabriel, thought it was okay, and stopped reading the series for a while. Then, on a whim, I picked up Lirael, and I LOVED it! Mainly because I love Lirael’s character. And from then on, I was undeniably hooked on the series.
    Allegra – Book of a thousand days…. I love it – so very very much. I love Shannon Hale’s style of writing, with it’s almost lyrical storyteller prose. I don’t know if it’s just me, but it almost feels like I’m reading a poem sometimes. Juliet Marillier is one of my all time favs! Try Wildwood Dancing or Cybele’s Secret. You might enjoy those (if not enjoy the cover art, at the very least). Yes, do this meme! But the whole point is to do it quickly and briskly, with whatever comes to mind =P

  5. You’ve made me really curious about some of these books! Great answers.

    The Lies of Locke Lamora‘s been in my TBR pile for ages now (I think I bought it when it first came out in hardback) and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. May have to pick it up now…

  6. bookdaze – Haha so many people have said that it’s been in their to-be-read pile! It’s just one of those books… but, I quite enjoyed it!

  7. Okay, finally got around to answering these questions! They’re still quickly answered, I just never had time to really sit down and do them. Anyway, here you go…
    1. Percy Jackson from Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan, definitely. I’m also partial to Miles from The Wednesday Tales by Jon Berkeley.
    2. I like Kendra from Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull. Also, Arianna from the Stravaganza books by Mary Hoffman is very intriguing.
    3. Lord Voldemort, of course! Also, Galbitorix from The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini is just so perfectly tyrant-ish.
    4. Khan Tegus from Book of a Thousand Days comes to mind. He’s just so down-to-earth, and he has so many good qualities… And of course, from the “modern classic”, Edward Cullen. *sigh* Sorry I had to say that, but I’m being truthful here.
    5. Merlyn from The Sword in the Stone by T. H. White. I love how some of his wisest sayings are delivered so comically!
    6. I can’t quite remember what it’s called right now (did it even have a name?), but the whole setting from Frances Hardinge’s Fly By Night. I believe it was loosely based on England during a certain time period. Also, the Elven culture in The Inheritance Cycle is awesome.
    7. Ooh, that’s a hard one! Gee, well, there’s this immortal tiger in <The Wednesday Tales, and I’ve always liked centaurs, particularly the ones in Percy Jackson and Fablehaven.
    8. Again, I can’t remember what he’s called (what’s with me tonight?), but Mosca Mye’s pet goose in Fly by Night. He’s so feisty and spunky, very defensive.
    8. In Fablehaven, there is a magical pot filled with a healing dust that I find very interesting. Also, the sword Excalibur from Arthurian legend comes to mind.
    9. The magic in the <Inheritance Cycle makes sense, how it draws from ones own energy. It’s also like this in E. Rose Sabin’s works, I believe.
    10. Elves from the Inheritance Cycle! They aren’t like little short men who help out around the house, no, no. They’re taller than post men in fact, very lithe, strong and graceful. They believe in preserving life and are vegetarians, and they are experts in nearly everything. I could praise those elves forever!
    11. Well, I couldn’t really say. I don’t really hold opinions in those kinds of things. But a certain edition of the Young Wizards series by Diane Duane has pretty art on the cover.

  8. Allegra – (srry for such a late response.. been busy) Wow! I haven’t read a lot of the books on your list! I’ve read Book of a Thousand Days , and agree with you that Kahn Tegus is just so great! Have you read Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine? I definitely recommend it to you!! It’s one of my all time favorites, and the Prince Charming in question is just – seriously, the ideal guy! And, as for Edward Cullen, I have to admit, I definite fell for him in Twilight. I think it was mostly Bella that got to me! And the movie just made Edward so much less cool, in my opinion. But the Edward from the book is definitely yummy.

  9. Yes, I have read Ella Enchanted, and I agree that it was awesome! Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale are both such great authors. I haven’t seen the Twilight movie, and I don’t plan to in the near future, but I’ve seen pictures of Robert Pattinson as Edward. Everyone thinks I’m crazy for saying this, but I don’t find Mr. Pattinson all that attractive. I have a grudge against him for intruding on my mental picture of Edward Cullen from the book!

  10. Allegra – Yeah, that’s it exactly! Edward is very… pasty-faced and unemotional and all around boring in the movie, in my opinion. I definitely imagined him to be very different. Funny thing, though, when I first saw the trailor for Twilight, I was like – “Yeah, Robert Pattinson would be perfect for the role!” But, when I actually saw his performance, it was terribly disapppointing. Hmm… if you’ve read Ella Enchanted might I suggest a few other ones (I love to recommend books):
    Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith
    Goose Chase by Patrice Kindl
    Of Two Minds by Carol Matas and Perry Nodelman
    Dragon’s Bait by Vivian Vande Velde
    On Fortune’s Wheel by Cynthia Voigt
    Just to name a few! Let me know if you’ve already read them!

Leave a Reply

