The only drawback to living in the world of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice would be the prospect of having to marry Mr.Collins…in that circumstance, one may be forced to “invent electricity and kill [oneself]!”

Oh… it’s 12:40 AM. I just finished watching “Lost in Austen“. I thought I would jot down my impressions while they’re still fresh in my mind.

What a gem! I loved loved loved it! Thanks to Stephanie from The Written Word for informing me that such a movie existed!

lost-in-austen.jpgThe movie, or rather show (it is about 4 episodes long), sheds new, hilariously entertaining and fresh light on the characters of the beloved story, Pride and Prejudice, that we all know so well. All those suspicions you had of the characters, hidden under the exterior of propriety and social conventions… they take on new dimension in this movie.

Amanda Price (played by Jemima Rooper) compares her love life and her love experiences with that of Elizabeth Bennet’s. She yearns to believe she can feel as moved and in love as the well-mannered and elegant characters in P&P and find her own happy ending. One day, Elizabeth Bennet steps through a door in her bathroom and, in the style of C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia, Amanda steps through the door in turn, to the other side… and finds herself trapped in Longbourn  – trading places with Elizabeth!

As Amanda said herself, Jane Austen would be rolling in her grave “like a cat in a tumble dryer” if she saw what a mess Amanda created of the beloved plot of Pride and Prejudice. Once she’s over the disbelief that she’s actually having the ultimate Jane Austen experience, Amanda sets to work trying to help the P&P plot proceed as it should. The only trouble is, the more she tries to force the characters to listen to her and do “what they’re supposed to do” the more things get out of hand, and the more Amanda realizes the characters she thought she knew so well had more secrets than she thought.

Oh, I had so many good laughs, felt my heart beat sporadically, cried liberally, shouted out in anger and frustration, grinned madly at the surprises. I will tell you now, you will be gleefully surprised at how different some of the characters are. Characters I thought were weak-willed showed pluck and fortitude. Characters I thought vicious and incorrigibly villainous, morphed into characters of complexity. Apart from Mr.Darcy’s expected smoldering look (not to mention his many moments of staring broodingly out the window while stubbornly refusing to partake in conversation), I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised and satisfied by this movie. The scenes are wonderfully set up for maximal surprises and hilarity to ensue, and I found the ending to indulge in my guilty pleasure of yearning for the happy ending.

Suffice it to say, if you are a Jane Austen fan, I expect you will devour this movie/show!

I had a soft spot for Mr. Bingley (played by Tom Mison). He was so adorable in the beginning of the movie. I wanted to pinch his cheeks and pat his head and say “Yes” to everything. On the other hand, I don’t think I could ever handle Mr.Darcy’s intensity… LOOK at him in that photo! It is rife with disdain and imperiousness. I suspect Elliot Cowan had to practice that look just so he could get it right every time. And, in the background is Ms. Bingley (played by Christina Cole), scoffing at the dowdiness of the females in the crowd…or is she?

And who can ever reject the very handsome Mr. Wickham played by the Tom Riley? I always despised him in the book, but he’s such a great fellow in this movie! He’s so charming and dashing and… bored of social etiquette. He truly saves the day in this movie. He doesn’t have a smoldering look, but he does have a teasing look that could make anyone blush. He’s just one of those eye-candy types… you just stare and stare. I suspect I’m more in love with Mr.Wickham than with Mr. Bingley or Mr.Darcy. I don’t think I can ever think of him as villainous as I used to before.

Anyway, I should probably go to sleep now that it’s 1:00 in the morning. Else you will suffer from reading my crudely imitative victorian diction. La, but I’m tired! (go ahead, roll your eyes…)

Oh, and I have successfully completed 1/6th of Stephanie’s “Everything Austen Challenge”!  Having failed exceptionally at forcing myself to continue reading P&P&Z, so this is an encouraging advancement!

10 comments

  1. Sounds like a fun movie/show! Oooh, I have to get a copy of something of Jane Austen’s. I think it’ll be required reading one of these days…

  2. If you enjoyed this then I highly recommend you watch, “Wives and Daughters,” with Justine Waddell and, “The Forsyte Saga,” with Damian Lewis. They are both outstanding series.

  3. Allegra – Yes, if you’re a Jane Austen fan, this feeds into all those Jane Austen addictions you have!

    Des – I’ve seen “Wives and Daughters” and it was great! But, I haven’t seen “The Forsyte Saga” so I will definitely check it out! Thanks for the suggestions!

  4. At first Amanda annoyed me, but as the show progressed she kind of grew on me and I let myself be swept away by this hilarious production. You just made me want to see this again! 😉

  5. Ana O. – She kind of annoyed me at first too! But, her characters became more endearing as the show went on. I would definitelys see it again — after I finish my summer courses =P

    Stephanie – I will be routing around on your website for more stuff later on! =)

  6. Heather – I think P&P&Z will grow on me! I’m not going to give up on it, until I’ve at least gone through it once. It’s sort of on hiatus right now…

Leave a Reply

