Space Filler?

Still in the midst of finishing The Lies of Locke Lamora. I’m incredibly slow right now… it’s the heat! I always end up falling asleep, no matter how exciting the story is.

For the moment, my first bookish meme!

Booking Through Thursday Q: What’s the funniest book you’ve read recently?

Well, its got to be Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. That book made me laugh embarassingly loud. It’s strange, it’s crazy, it  throws its imaginative inventions at you (at a whim, really); just like Coraline, its creepy characters seem to walk right off the pages and taunt you while you’re not reading. It’s definitely a book full of surprises and full of fun scenes.

At the moment, The Lies of Locke Lamora has its moments of hilarity, too.

6 comments

  1. It’s been a while since I last read Neverwhere, but I don’t remember laughing as much myself 😛 Maybe it’s time for a reread. I do appreciate Neil Gaiman’s humour, though – I love how subtle it is.

  2. I’m glad you’re enjoying Neverwhere! It was my very first Neil Gaiman book ever, and I have fond memories of reading it for the first time.

  3. Susan B. Evans – Yes! I really enjoyed Coraline as well… such a creepy and quirky story with a spunky heroine and a twisted plot! I really enjoyed that one too!

    Nymeth – I think I laughed in surprise at some parts of that story – Neil Gaiman tends to surprise me with strange new turns to this story.

    Jenny – Coraline was my first ever Gaiman book. Neverwhere was my second! I read it so many years after Coraline, it’s like re-discovering him! He’s great.

  4. I can’t remember ever really laughing at a book since I finished the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. But, I just discovered The Wednesday tales by Jon Berkeley, and they’re pretty funny!

  5. Allegra – Hmm, I’ve never heard of those books! I think it actually depends on my mood. Sometimes I’ll find something hilarious, other times I’ll think, “What was I thinking – it wasn’t that funny!”

Leave a Reply

