Bookstore raiding = empty pockets

It feels like I’m trying to fill a void in my life with books. I’m going on a craze! Just buying them wherever – just give me a reason! Even a hint of a sale is incentive to buy a book or two…or, in today’s case, nine or ten? New ones too. Here’s the list:

  1. Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman (a collection of short stories)
  2. Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman (another collection of short stories. I’m practically in love with his stories.)
  3. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith. Since I’m doing the “Everything Austen Challenge” and I saw this title at Stephanie’s blog (The Written Word). The lady at the cash register said she loved it to pieces and apparently there’s one coming out about Abraham Lincoln and Vampires? Anyway, I’m in the mood for something a little warped (or shall we say, creative?). There was a nice picture in there of “two adult unmentionables” feasting on the household staff. I daren’t flip a page more for fear of misinterpreting such powerful scenes! =P
  4. Fairest by Gail Carson Levine – I’ve already read it. I was supposed to write a certain essay on a certain work of Shakespeare’s but….it looked so harmless. Oh, Books will be the ruin of me (a very enjoyable road to ruin, mind you – full of adventures and romance and magic and witticism)!
  5. I capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. I’ve been meaning to buy it for a while now. I remember it as being quite a charming story. Who wouldn’t want to live in a drafty, dilapidated castle? I would! I could be the crazy lady living in the spire who leaves a flickering candle by her windowsill to keep the village folk talking).
  6. Mara, Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGraw. I’ve always loved this tale – set in Egypt (check), gutsy girl (check), mysterious mission (check) and the romance isn’t overdone either (double double check)!
  7. Elske: A novel of the Kingdom by Cynthia Voigt. Another of my Voigt favorites. Now I have two of them! In my battered and ancient reading “list” I gave it a 9/10. And as I remember, it was tough to even get past 8. So, all’s good.
  8. The Changeling Sea by Patricia A. McKillip. I only like two of her books: The Forgotten Beasts of Eld (of which I own a copy already) and this one! It’s short and sweet. The other ones are too dreamy. I always had crazy dreams after reading them though, so that’s a plus.
  9. City of the Beasts by Isabel Allende. I’ve read Daughter of Fortune and I did a book report on it way back when I was still in high school. I’m interested to see her write something more fantastical then that one.

Okay, so maybe the exact number was 9 items purchased at the till. I’m a shopaholic alright, albeit my tastes are tailored towards stories. I jokingly told my relative that we might have to fast for a few days because I may not be able to buy groceries for a while. I was only joking!!! But, yeah, she sort of quirked her eyebrow. But this blog community is like bookaholics anonymous so I’m okay. No one will judge…right? We’ll just change the subject to books and no one will refer to the dark side of book loving. There’s no unhealthy relationship there. None at all. I’ll just curl up in bed now and read all night…Oooo Victorians in various stages of decomposition…just my cup of tea!

Before I start dreaming about Zombies– check this out!

It’s cool! I have mixed feelings, though. Mutilation of books… but it looks so cool!

Here’s more:

The one above is by UK artist Su Blackwell, I believe.

I can’t find out which artist did what, but this website seems to have it straight.

Some people are crazy creative.  I’ve never thrown out a book. Ever. It’s sort of taboo for me. What if I make bad karmic causes by throwing away a book?… and in the future, I’ll be born in a world where BOOKS DON’T EXIST? In an entire universe where there’s no such thing as silently reading the day away on one’s own. So, don’t throw away books people! I guess recycling them into art is okay, in terms of karma anyways haha.

15 thoughts on “Bookstore raiding = empty pockets

  1. I loved the book Fairest ~ Actually, I love all things Gail Carson Levine. I’ve heard of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, and I think I’ll read it when I’m older…
    Anyway, don’t feel bad about buying huge amounts of books, because I always do the same thing; I just can’t do it often because I only get money on my birthday. :)That book art is fascinating, it probably takes a lot of time and effort. I never throw out books, recycle them, or donate them, and I’m very selective as to who I lend them to. My library is to me as it’s hoard is to a dragon!

  2. This is my favorite line from your post: “But this blog community is like bookaholics anonymous so I’m okay”…how true! I don’t have a favorite picture, though, all the book art was spectacular!

  3. Mara, Daughter of the Nile! I read that book when I was twelve and I love it! Love, love, love. Have you read any of Eloise Jarvis McGraw’s other books?

  4. I’ve read The Moorchild, which I liked a lot, but of all her books, including Mara, the very most best one of all is Greensleeves.

    And nobody has ever read it. If your library has it, you must absolutely read it! So wonderful!

  5. oh how could I forget? I’ve read Greensleeves before, I just forgot who the author was. I think I read it long ago, while I was still in High School. It was a gem wasn’t it? I think I had to go through the library stacks in order to find it.

  6. You got some really great ones! I adore Neil Gaiman, I loved I Capture the Castle, and yesterday I ordered myself a copy of Fairest as well (along with 9 other books, plus 2 that I mooched *cough*).

    Also, that book art is amazing. Though the thought of cutting a book makes me cry a little inside, I think that if it’s to make something like that I can handle it 😛

  7. Nymeth – I have mixed feelings about the Book Art too, it looks fantastic, but they’re cutting apart a book! And I have been reading more and more Gaiman lately, eversince stumbling upon Neverwhere, which I absolutely loved!

  8. sdechantal – I know, right? I thought I would be cringing when I saw it, but it looks so neat! I guess I’m just jealous….Thanks for dropping by!

  9. Oh my goodness, that book art is amazing!

    I have read “Mara, Daughter of the Nile” so many times it is ridiculous. Have you read “The Golden Goblet” by the same author? Equally good, but I love Mara more.

  10. Christine H. – I just finished reading Mara again! It’s always such an incredible experience. My heart’s still thrumming from the intrigue and the romance and Mara’s courage!

Leave a Reply

