“What does anybody want? dead things…extra teeth…”

I’ve been meaning to post a little something about this for a while. Has anyone seen this production? I thought it was fantastic! I’ve been on a huge Neil Gaiman binge lately. I keep running into his work everywhere. It started with “Neverwhere” the T.V. series (on BBC, I think).  Then I bought the book, along with Coraline, which I’ve been meaning to buy for a while. I then went ahead and watched ‘Stardust’ for the second time. I went to the library, and saw “Mirrormask” and I’ve just finished watching that one too (it was strange but intriguing and very different).

“Neverwhere” is a strange, fast-paced story about a world found under the city of london, populated by people who  above-londoners would normally not give a glance at (such as the homeless on the streets). I love it! It has the magic-in-the-midst-of-a-modern-day-city storyline that I’m finding more and more fun and intriguing to read about. What is more fun then thinking up your own world paralleling this, sometimes, boring one? My favorite character was Hunter. There’s no way around it – she’s just great.  And the Marquis, what a suave slimy charming man. Totally unpredictable. A real survivor. And I love the odd bits of humor thrown in. The whole thing was a riot to watch.

What I love about all the Neil Gaiman works translated onto the screen are how lively and distinct each character is. How odd and sometimes just frustratingly enigmatic (whew!) they can be! I so totally enjoyed “Stardust”. It is The Story. It has all the elements of the traditional tale. Entertainment, that’s what it is. Without the gore and brutality that they blast at you on the screen now-a-days. It’s got the good and evil, the high adventure, the love, the twists and turns, the surprises, and the tied up loose ends leaving a few strands flying loose for the satisfying ending.

Anyway, I think I’ve blogged my fill. Have to get away from the computer screen or else I’ll start writing nonsense….

4 comments

  1. I have that DVD! I’m so pleased someone else has seen (and liked!) this miniseries. I actually have been wanting to rewatch it, and just haven’t found the time. The Marquis de Carabas is so excellent in this film; they were considering that actor to be the next Doctor Who, which I really wanted to have happen. I love it when Mr. Croup and Mr. Vandemar say that you can’t make an omelette without killing a few people. 🙂

  2. Oh you’re so lucky! Did you order it online? I don’t think you can find this on DVD at just any ol’ store. Were they really considering the Marquis de Carabas as the next Dr. Who? That would’ve been awesome! Dr. Who isn’t airing on TV so often anymore, I don’t know what happened. Are they in hiatus until the next season? And Mr.Croup and Mr. Vandemar are so quotable! Love ’em.

  3. My recollection is that my local Barnes & Noble had it. They have a good selection of films from the Beeb actually. 🙂

    I know, I was well excited for the new Doctor announcement, and then they gave it to some rubbish little child in his twenties. WHATEVER. I am going to be so crushed when David Tennant goes, I get depressed just thinking about it.

  4. I just finished reading Neverwhere and the tv series was pretty faithful to the plot. I almost thought against bringing the novel with me as a commuting read, because I’d already received several looks from people for snorting out loud at some parts. But, it made my commuting hours so much more bearable. Thanks Neil Gaiman!

Leave a Reply

