10 books that I have nightmares about if I have to leave them behind somewhere

In no particular order, here they are:

1. Lirael by Garth Nix. I liked all three of his Old Kingdom series, but this one was my favorite. I love the library that he describes and I love how Lirael finds the Dog.

2. The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan. I don’t care if people think this is a stereotyping of chinese culture or whatnot. I like Amy Tan’s dreamlike style of writing. This one is my favorite out of all of her other novels.

3. Claidi Collection by Tanith Lee. I wish she’d write more stories like this one. I don’t enjoy the work she directs to more mature readers.  This was just the right mix of spontaneity, creativity and spunk.

4. The Scarlett Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy. The first time I read this, I teared up a bit.

5. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I read this book every year when it’s a rainy, dreary day. I love the big old house and gardens that Mary first stumbles through and later, transforms.

6. Child of the Prophecy by Juliet Marilier. Do not disturb me when I am reading this book. I get angry. I wish I could write such a perfect mix of fantasy and folklore as Juliet Marilier does in her work.

7. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I never get tired of this gothic romance.

8. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. She’s such a crazy, great author. I love her.

9. Emily’s Quest by L.M. Montgomery. I also love the Anne of Green Gables books, but I particularly love Emily. When I was younger, I used to give names to places in my neighborhood just because I loved how Emily named things at New Moon.

10. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. This better-than-Cinderella story is perfect. Back when I was innocent but influential, I forced my brother to listen to me while I read bits of it aloud to him as a bedtime story. He still remembers all the characters.

I literally, have had some pretty ridiculous nightmares. Once, I dreamt that there was a huge tsunami coming and everyone had to evacuate. I absolutely WOULD NOT leave until I made sure all my favorite books were with me. I remember everyone throwing up their hands in exasperation and leaving without me while I was still digging through a pile of books and ripping my hair out because my backpack could only fit so many. I exist on books.

Anyway, these are just old-time favorites of mine. They’re not necessarily deep, some of them are only children’s books, but I love these books just like they’re old friends of mine. I wonder, does my choice of books reveal anything about the kind of person I am?

6 thoughts on “10 books that I have nightmares about if I have to leave them behind somewhere

  1. I have read all of those except 2 and 6. Ella Enchanted has been a favorite book of mine since I was 11 or so. I still reread it yearly. The Emily of New Moon series is a favorite of mine mostly because Emily is quite a bit like me. Howl’s Moving Castle… Howl rocks. Have you read the two sequels? Jane Eyre is so entirely amazing. I haven’t read The Secret Garden in years. I do remember loving it when I was younger. Oh, the Scarlet Pimpnerel! Love that book to pieces. Have you seen the movie version with Anthony Andrews? Percy is perfect. 🙂 I read the Claidi Collection not too long ago. I wasn’t particularly fond of them. Certainly not the worst thing I had ever read, but it all seemed so bizarre to me. Lirael is a good one, but I liked Sabriel more. Lirael was my second favorite. I pretty much adored the library. 🙂

  2. You should totally read 6. It’s one of my favorites!!! If you like myths and folklore mixed with fantasy romance adventure…. you’ll love Juliet Marilier. Child of the Prophecy is the third book of three, it’s part of the Sevenwaters Trilogy. I haven’t actually re-read the other two, I only like this one. Umm, what else? Oh, she mixes a lot of celtic folklore in it. It reads like a dream. If you like that kind of stuff, I’m sure you’ll enjoy her (I wish she’d write more). Oh, and she also wrote Wildwood Dancing which I wanted to put on this list too! That one’s set in Transylvania, I believe, and it’s a fairy tale re-telling – a genre I love and can’t get enough of.

    Anyway, as for the Scarlett Pimpernel, I’ve only seen the BBC version. Percy looked…umm… well, not how I imagined. I googled the version you watched and now I want to watch it! And, yeah, a lot of people don’t really like the Claidi Collection. It is a little strange, that’s sort of why I like it! But I didn’t enjoy Tanith Lee’s other books. Now those are weird.

  3. I have Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier on hold at the library. I read (and totally and completely loved) Wildwood Dancing. I also read its sequel Cybele’s Secret. It was good and I enjoyed reading it, but I didn’t love it half so much as Wildwood Dancing.

    The Anthony Andrew’s version is actually based on two of the author’s novels. The Scarlet Pimpernel and El Dorado. It’s such a good film though. The costumes and music…everything. I haven the biggest crush on Percy.

    After I read the Claidi Journals, I read Piratica by Tanith Lee. I really didn’t like that one too much at all, so I haven’t bothered getting its sequel.

  4. I didn’t like Piratica either. The only other books she wrote that I liked was, I think, the Unicorn books. But, I haven’t read them in a long time. Maybe I should re-read them…

  5. I’ll have to put these on my list to read. For me, I freaked when I moved out of my parents’ house because I had to leave 90% of my book collection there for lack of room (now for lack of shelving, but that should be changing this spring). But I refused to leave these behind:
    1) Forgotten Beasts of Eld, Patricia McKillip
    2) Peter Pan, JM Barrie
    3) The Neverending Story, Michael Ende
    4) Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
    5) In Mad Love and War, Joy Harjo
    6) Lord of the Rings, JRT
    7) Shakespeare’s collection
    8) Book of Magical Names (collection of baby/unusual/cultural names)
    9) Catcher in the Rye, JDS
    10)The Country Between Us, Carolyn Forche

  6. #1 is very very very good! I sort of want to put it on my list too haha. I have to admit, I’ve never actually read Lord of the Rings (I saw the movie of course and thought it was beautifully done!)… but I’ve read The Hobbit which I enjoyed. My mother sometimes borrows my books without telling me. She loves to do that, especially when she’s traveling. But the dreadful thing is that she will take my favorite books, read them, then, if she has no space in her baggage, leave it in the Taxi or somewhere! I almost bawled when she told me she was going to leave a copy of Geraldine Brook’s Year of Wonders behind! And that one isn’t even one of my top favorites.

Leave a Reply

